Governor of the Bank of Israel Prof. Amir Yaron has established a Search Committee for the position of Director of the Bank of Israel’s Research Department, after Research Department Director and Monetary Committee member Prof. Michel Strawczynski will end his term on December 31, 2022, after 5 years in the position.

The Search Committee is chaired by Bank of Israel Deputy Governor Andrew Abir, and includes Bank of Israel Director General Ms. Shulamit Geri, Prof. Nathan Sussman—former Research Department Director at the Bank and Professor of Economics in the Geneva Graduate Institute, and Prof. Zvi Eckstein—former Deputy Governor of the Bank of Israel and Dean of Reichman University’s Tiomkin ​School of Economics.

The Search Committee will publish information on how to submit a candidacy for the position, will interview candidates that it finds fitting, and will recommend a small number of candidates to the Governor. The Search Committee and the Governor may also contact candidates who have not submitted candidacies on their own.

The Governor thanked the Committee members for their readiness to assist in the important process of choosing a Research Department Director at the Bank of Israel.​